top of page

MARC-HENRI WAJNBERG

Writer, director and producer

Photo%20MH_edited.jpg

Marc-Henri Wajnberg, born in Brussels, studied cinema at INSAS, the National Superior Institute of Performing Arts and Broadcasting Techniques.

Rich in ideas and new concepts, he has multiplied his audiovisual creations, notably with Clapman, a series of 1200 8-second shorts which were broadcast daily in over 50 countries.

 

In 1993, he directed his first feature-length film, Just Friends, which plunges us into the world of jazz music in Antwerp in 1959, through the eyes of a talented saxophonist dreaming of a career in New York. Just Friends won critical acclaim for its aesthetic research and the performance of its cast (Josse de Pauw, Sylvia Milhaud, Ann Gisel Glass, Charles Berling).

In 1996, he directed the short film Le Réveil, which won the Rail d'Or at Cannes, and features a masterful Jean-Claude Dreyfus waking up every morning with a thousand ingenious mechanisms.

His curiosity and interest in art and history also led him to devote himself to making creative documentaries, such as Evgueni Khaldei, photographer under Stalin in 1997, in which he set out to meet this moving war photographer. In 2001, he directed Oscar Niemeyer, an architect committed to his century, an account of the 20th century's most prolific architect.

During the 2000s, Marc-Henri Wajnberg developed a number of projects. He conceived and produced a series of 33 documentaries for Arte, Kaleidoscope, looking at life frames, for which he directed four episodes. In each issue, Kaleidoscope - the guide - chooses a singular living space, public or private, in Europe or elsewhere, and presents it in a succession of fragmented views.

He collaborated on the development and co-produced The Five Obstructions, a feature-length documentary by Lars von Trier and Joergen Leth. A research film in which the two men's preconceived ideas and opinions are continually challenged.

 

In 2009, Marc-Henri Wajnberg produced The Earth, Of Men, a collection of 5 documentaries shot in the Democratic Republic of Congo. As part of the 50th anniversary of African independence, he produced Portrait de Kinshasa for the Arte web documentary series.

From this encounter with Kinshasa and its inhabitants, Marc-Henri Wajnberg created his second feature film, Kinshasa Kids. A blend of fiction and documentary, it tells the story of 8 street children in search of a better life in bustling Kinshasa. Invited to more than 60 festivals (Venice, Toronto, Pusan, New York, etc.), Kinshasa Kids received 8 international awards, including the Human Rights Prize in Strasbourg and the Magritte for best editing.

He continues his work to raise awareness of children's rights by making an interactive virtual reality film with street children in Kinshasa: Kinshasa Now. The film was selected in the VR Expanded competition at the 77th Venice Film Festival, as well as at the Festival dei Popoli and the Ji.hlava International Documentary Film Festival. As he has done previously, he is involved in the education and rehabilitation of the street children who play in his films.

After various film production experiences in Kinshasa, including documentaries, web films, concert recordings, CD productions, and virtual reality films, Marc-Henri Wajnberg produced in 2021 the feature-length documentary I am Chance, capturing the turbulent lives of a group of young girls living on the streets of Kinshasa.

bottom of page

MARC-HENRI WAJNBERG

Scénariste, réalisateur et producteur

Photo%20MH_edited.jpg

Marc-Henri Wajnberg, né à Bruxelles, a effectué ses études de cinéma à l'INSAS, Institut National Supérieur des Arts du spectacle et des techniques de diffusions.

Riche d'idées et de nouveaux concepts, il multiplie ses créations audiovisuelles, notamment avec Clapman, une série de 1200 shorts de 8 secondes qui seront diffusés quotidiennement dans plus de 50 pays.

En 1993 il réalise son premier long-métrage, Just Friends, qui nous plonge dans le milieu musical du jazz, à Anvers en 1959, à travers un saxophoniste talentueux rêvant de faire carrière à New-York. Just Friends a emballé la critique par sa recherche esthétique et ljeu de ses interprètes (Josse de Pauw, Sylvia Milhaud, Ann Gisel Glass, Charles Berling).

Il réalise le court-métrage Le Réveil en 1996, récompensé par le Rail d'Or à Cannes et dans lequel il met en scène un magistral Jean-Claude Dreyfus se réveillant chaque matin au moyen de mille mécanismes ingénieux.

Sa curiosité et son intérêt pour l'art et l'histoire le mènent également à se consacrer à la réalisation de documentaires de création, tels que Evgueni Khaldei, photographe sous Staline en 1997, où il part à la rencontre de cet émouvant photographe de guerre. En 2001, il réalise Oscar Niemeyer, un architecte engagé dans le siècle, un témoignage sur l'architecte le plus prolifique du 20ème siècle.

Au cours des années 2000, Marc-Henri Wajnberg développe de nombreux projets. Il conçoit et produit une collection 33 documentaires pour Arte, Kaléidoscope, regards sur un cadre de vie, dont il réalise quatre épisodes. Dans chaque numéro, Kaléidoscope – le guide – choisit un lieu de vie singulier, public ou privé, en Europe ou ailleurs, et le décline en une succession de regards fragmentés.

Il collabore au développement et coproduit The Five Obstructions, long-métrage documentaire de Lars von Trier et Joergen Leth. Un film de recherche où les idées préconçues et les opinions des deux hommes seront continuellement remises en question.

En 2009, Marc-Henri Wajnberg produit une collection de 5 documentaires tournés en République démocratique du Congo, La Terre, Des Hommes. Dans le cadre des 50 ans d'Indépendance de l'Afrique, il réalise Portrait de Kinshasa pour la série de webdocumentaires d'Arte.

 

De cette rencontre avec Kinshasa et ses habitants, Marc-Henri Wajnberg fait naître son second long-métrage, Kinshasa Kids. Une fiction mêlée au style documentaire qui raconte l'histoire de 8 enfants de la rue en quête d'une vie meilleure dans une Kinshasa bouillonnante. Invité dans plus de 60 festivals (Venise, Toronto, Pusan, New York, …), Kinshasa Kids a reçu 8 prix internationaux, dont le Prix des Droits de l’Homme à Strasbourg et le Magritte du meilleur montage.

Il continue son travail de sensibilisation aux droits des enfants en réalisant un film en réalité virtuelle à choix interactif avec des enfants de la rue à Kinshasa : Kinshasa Now. Le film est sélectionné en compétition VR Expanded à la 77ème Mostra de Venise ainsi qu'au Festival dei Popoli et au Ji.hlava International Documentary Film Festival. Comme il l’a fait précédemment, il s’occupe de l’éducation et la réinsertion des enfants de la rue qui jouent dans ses films.

Après différentes expériences, à Kinshasa, de productions de films documentaires, film web, captations de concerts, productions de CDs, films en réalité virtuelle, Marc-Henri produit en 2021 un long-métrage documentaire I am Chance sur des groupes de filles de la rue.